Hi!

I am a newbie using Ultra Fractal 6.01 Extended Edition running under Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit, Service Pack 1.

As I stated in a prior post, before jumping into more advanced topics such as Layers and Transformations, I am in the process of developing a simple routine for creating new fractals. After choosing a fractal formula (I have already downloaded the Public Formulas), I am now ready to select a coloring algorithm.

As I understand it, coloring algorithms are selected from Layer Properties > Inside > Browse and from Layer Properties > Outside > Browse. My first question is can Outside and Inside be used with ALL fractal formulas? Or, are there formulas for which either Outside or Inside does not apply? That is, does nothing.

My second question is about Gradients. Are Gradients applied separately for the Outside and the Inside? Or, are Gradients applied simultaneously to both?

Finally, after selecting the coloring algorithms for Outside and Inside, my third question is what does changing the Solid Color for Outside and/or Inside do?

Thank you!

Dr. T